This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

You are here

  1. Home
  2. News

New cabinet for Bath & North East Somerset Council

Date published: 2023-05-26 | Category: Democracy

New cabinet for Bath & North East Somerset Council

The new leader and cabinet members, who will steer the majority-led Liberal Democrat council for Bath & North East Somerset, have been named.

Councillor Guy was appointed as Leader at Bath & North East Somerset Council’s Annual Meeting last night (Thursday May 25). The administration has announced the following Cabinet, along with their portfolios:

  • Councillor Kevin Guy (Bathavon North) Council Leader  
  • Councillor Sarah Warren (Bathavon North) Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Climate Emergency and Sustainable Travel 
  • Councillor Dave Wood (Mendip) Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Council Priorities and Delivery
  • Councillor Mark Elliott (Lansdown) Cabinet Member for Resources
  • Councillor Paul Roper (Kingsmead) Cabinet Member for Economic & Cultural Sustainable Development
  • Councillor Alison Born (Widcombe and Lyncombe) Cabinet Member for Adult Services     
  • Councillor Paul May (Publow with Whitchurch) Cabinet Member for Children’s Services
  • Councillor Manda Rigby (Bathwick) Cabinet Member for Highways
  • Councillor Tim Ball (Twerton) Cabinet Member for Neighbourhood Services
  • Councillor Matt McCabe (Bathavon South) Cabinet Member for Built Environment & Sustainable Development  

The following cabinet project leads, who will provide support to cabinet members, have also been appointed as follows:

  • Leader and Built Environment & Sustainable Development: Councillor Deborah Collins (Widcombe and Lyncombe)
  • Highways: Councillor Lucy Hodge (Lansdown)
  • Climate Emergency and Sustainable Travel: Councillor Oli Henman (Walcot)
  • Highways: Councillor Joel Hirst (Odd Down)

In addition to the cabinet roles the Annual Meeting appointed a new Chair of the Council, Councillor Sarah Moore (Twerton). The Vice-Chair of Council is Councillor Karen Walker (Peasedown).

At the meeting Councillor Guy set out how the new cabinet roles would serve the residents of Bath and North East Somerset. 

He said: “We are proud of our track record running Bath and North East Somerset Council for the last four years and our new cabinet team will continue to deliver on our ambitious vision for all communities across the district. We want to be an exemplar council for climate action, invest in cleaner, safer streets and provide more travel choices. We continue to prioritise affordable houses in the right locations and we will focus our efforts on ensuring the whole area continues to thrive economically. Looking after our vulnerable children and adults and ensuring support for mental health and wellbeing will also be a key focus over the next four years.”    

Cabinet meetings and full council meetings are webcast and available on our Youtube channel. The calendar of meetings is published on the council website.  


Pictured l-r

Front: Councillor Sarah Warren, Councillor Kevin Guy, Councillor Alison Born

Middle: Councillor Matt McCabe, Councillor Paul May

Back: Councillor Dave Wood, Councillor Paul Roper, Councillor Tim Ball, Councillor Mark Elliott, Councillor Manda Rigby

Notes to editors

The cabinet is the supreme decision-making body for dealing with the council’s executive functions.  Cabinet decisions may be made collectively or individually by cabinet members. Its decisions, and the way it makes them, are open to scrutiny from the internal overview and scrutiny bodies and from individual councillors. The cabinet conducts its collective business at formal and open public meetings.

Share this page